Dear Colleagues,

It is a great pleasure to invite you to join us in the ESCMID study group for Public Health Microbiology *(ESGPHM)*.

Public Health Microbiology (PHM) is a rapidly evolving cross-cutting discipline spanning the fields of human, animal, food, water and environmental microbiology, with a focus on human health and disease from a population- rather than an individual patient-level perspective.

The aim of PHM is to prevent diseases by combining the work of all public health professionals (microbiologists, epidemiologists, veterinarians, molecular microbiologists, infectious disease specialists, and other health care workers).

The main purpose of the **ESGPHM** study group is collaboration within different topics of PHM, informing and training ESCMID members on, for example, outbreak investigations, public health research, molecular typing of pathogens, and laboratory-based surveillance programs.

We would like to discuss with you the role of clinical microbiologists, infectious disease and public health specialists and how to strengthen our networks and learn from each other. The **ESGPHM** will try to build bridges between the individual patient care of clinical microbiology, infectious diseases and professionals working in the different fields of public health.

You are most welcome to join and register following the instructions below: Please go to the website of ESCMID

https://www.escmid.org/research projects/study groups/become sg member/ and register as a member of the ESGPHM.

To be able to become a member of the study group you have to be a full ESCMID member.

What we will offer you as member of our study group:

- We will inform you about our activities via a study group newsletter and information on the ESCMID website.
- There will be possibilities to suggest topics for sessions at future ECCMID conferences or for courses outside the ESCMID.

• There will be opportunities to apply for different types of grants, both individual grants and study group grants.

If you wish to be actively involved in the work of the study group please inform chairperson Dr Titia Kortbeek (<a href="mailto:titia.kortbeek@rivm.nl">titia.kortbeek@rivm.nl</a>) or secretary Dr Georgina Tzanakaki (<a href="mailto:gtzanakaki@esdy.edu.gr">gtzanakaki@esdy.edu.gr</a>).

We look forward to meeting you during the first business meeting of our study group at the ECCMID in Madrid 21-24<sup>th</sup> April 2018.

On behalf of the temporary executive board,

Titia Kortbeek (Chair)
Androulla Efstratiou (co-Chair),
Georgina Tzanakaki (Scientific Secretary ),
Silvia Herrera (Treasurer)
Andreas Sing (member)
Rune Stensvold (member)
Steven van Gucht (member)